Our Service Area

Boundaries of conservation districts in Colorado can be complicated. Where some districts are bounded by the same lines as a municipality or county, others appear like a collection of scattered puzzle pieces across a region. There are four conservation districts within El Paso County:

El Paso County Conservation District was formed excluding all incorporated municipalities and areas devoted exclusively to commercial or industrial uses at time the Fountain Valley Soil Conservation District was formed in June 7, 1943, and the Black Squirrel Soil Conservation District was formed in August 4, 1945. Our legal description, as recorded on October 30, 1995, can be reviewed by clicking here.


As of 2023, land owners in the El Paso County Conservation District have mailing addresses in all 50 US States and the District of Columbia, and Australia, Canada, China, Cook Islands, England, France, Germany, Guam, Italy, Japan, Palau, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, UAE, and Vietnam, and Air, Army, Diplomatic, and Fleet Post Offices!